Mary, Our Mother

It is May, the month of Mary, Our Blessed Mother. May Crownings, First Communions and Mother’s Day are celebrated. Flowers and trees are in full bloom and winter is a distant memory.

I have had a strong devotion to Mary since I was a little girl. Having a gentle, loving earthly mother, I imagined Mary to be similar in a spiritual way; that was of great comfort to me. As I matured and had children of my own, I looked to Mary for guidance and intercession with her Son, Jesus. As a mother, you are cognizant of your short comings and your need to improve, but you also realize the beautiful bond you have with your children.

Just recently, I experienced Mary in a new way. My son was diagnosed with testicular cancer and had to go through 9 weeks of chemo therapy. The pain I felt in my heart was indescribable, I felt helpless and afraid. As fate would have it, his chemo sessions occurred during Lent. I prayed the Rosary daily, and asked Mary for strength and guidance, she knew the pain in my heart; she understood my fear; and could relate with my feelings of helplessness. She had experienced all these emotions during the Passion of her Son, Jesus Christ. I was broken, and I sought comfort from Our Lady and she provided me with peace. The chemo sessions have ended, my son is growing stronger day by day, and is cancer-free. God is good.

During times of grief or sadness, rely on Our Mother Mary, to bring you comfort and peace.

Nancy Romaine

Leave a Reply

